Notice: Undefined variable: eventyear in /var/www/vhosts/curlingzone.com/ontariocurlingtour.com/global.php on line 34
(3: )(2: )(4: )(5: )(6: )(7: 2020) Ontario Curling Tour -- Powered by CurlingZone.com
 
HOME  -|-  SCHEDULES (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  TEAMS (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  MONEY LIST (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  ORDER OF MERIT (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  NEWS  -|-  PHOTOS  -|-  LOGIN
 
 
      Ontario Curling Tour
    Developing Grassroots Competitive Curling
 
    Derek Corbett
Age: 28
Birthplace: Rochester, New York
Resides: Raliegh, North Carolina
Throws: Left
Profession: Graduate Student, SUNY-Environmental Science and Forestry
High School: Allendale Columbia School
College/University: SUNY-Environmental Science and Forestry
Biography
In Own Words:
I love the sport of curling and have the goals of competing in adult world competition representing the United States. I take curling extremely seriously and challenge myself to be the very best curler I can be every time I step on the ice. I hope that this diligence and dedication will be enough to lead me to achieve the goals I have set for myself.
I also love coaching and nurturing future competitive curlers. I regularly coach at Junior camps and adult clinics.
My two favorite parts about curling are the necessity for teamwork and sweeping.

Curling Highlights:
U.S. National Championships, 2014.
U.S. Challenge Round, 2009.


Junior Highlights:
World Junior Championships: 2012 (5th).
U.S. Junior Men's National Championships: 2012 (1st), 2011 (2nd), 2010 (5th), 2008 (2nd), 2006 (7th).
GNCC Junior Championships: 2008 (runner-up), 2006.

 
  2019 Italian Mixed Doubles Cup
  Home News Teams Photos Events Admin  
 
Questions and Answers

Who\What introduced you to Curling?
Middle School Physical Education.

Do you have any pre-game superstitions or rituals?
I always listen to Save A Horse Ride A Cowboy before every game while warming up. And I have a very special broom cover that I bring to every game.

What is your career highlight to date?
Winning the U.S. Junior National Championship and competing at worlds in Sweden.

Who was influential in your curling development?
Soo many people. My parents. My first coach, Clark Raven. My brother, Brandon. My past coaches Sandra McMakin and Keith Dropkin. All my current and past teammates. Many members of the Rochester Curling Club. Etc..

What is your favourite sport other then curling?
Soccer.

What is your earliest curling memory?
Watching the Junior Nationals when they were in Rochester NY, only a few months after I started curling.

What kind of Training Regimen do you follow?
I run and workout my upper body.

What are your curling strengths?
I like to think sweeping is one of my strengths.

What are your curling weaknesses?
I need to improve my peel game and my mental stability when playing really important games.

What kind of goals have you set for yourself?
Medaling at world competition, and medaling at the Olympics.

Do others in your Family curl?
My brother and I are first generation curlers, but my father and mother got into curling soon after we did.

What do you enjoy most about curling?
The teamwork and the sweeping, but the complete list is very very long!

What have you learned through curling?
So much! Specifically about how to work as a team under pressure and how to practice and train efficiently and effectively.

What would you like others to know about curling?
That it's amazing game that has much more to it than initially meets the eye.

Most memorable curling experience?
Winning the US junior nationals.

Who is your curling rival?
I try to be friends with everyone! I much prefer to not have rivals.

Place you'd like to build a curling club?
Wherever I'm living right now.

Do you have any hidden talents?
I tap dance, ballroom dance, and play the cello and guitar.

What is your favourite music? Groups?
I like country and classical.

What hobbies do you have?
I have my private pilot's license.

What is your favourite colour?
Yellow.


Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on null in /var/www/vhosts/curlingzone.com/ontariocurlingtour.com/player.php on line 373