HOME  -|-  SCHEDULES (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  TEAMS (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  MONEY LIST (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  ORDER OF MERIT (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  NEWS  -|-  PHOTOS  -|-  LOGIN
 
 
      Ontario Curling Tour
    Developing Grassroots Competitive Curling
 
    Stephanie Matheson
Age: 33
Birthplace: Burlington, Ontario
Resides: Burlington, Ontario
Throws: Right
Profession: Project Manager, BIOX Corporation
High School: Nelson High School
College/University: Queen's University
Biography
Curling Highlights:
2008 Ontario Mixed Semi-Finalist
2012 Ontario Scotties Tournament of Hearts Provincial Participant
2013 Ontario Scotties Tournament of Hearts Provincial Runner-Up

Junior Highlights:
1999 and 2001 Ontario Bantam Girl's Provincial Champion
1999 Canada Winter Games Participant
2001 Ontario Winter Games Participant
2003 Ontario Junior Women's Provincial Champion
2003 Karcher Junior Nationals Participant
2002 - 2007 Ontario Junior Women's Provincial Participant

 
  2017 Curl Mesabi Classic
  Home News Teams Photos Events Admin  
 
Questions and Answers

Who\What introduced you to Curling?
My parents introduced me to curling at the age of 10. My father was a curling club manager in Burlington for several years, and my mother has been an avid curler her whole life thanks to my grandfather who started several Junior curling programs in Saskatechwan and Kingston, Ontario.

Do you have any pre-game superstitions or rituals?
I try not to develop any pre-game superstitions or rituals as they can tend to take away from the focus required to complete the task at hand.

What is your career highlight to date?
Participating at the 2003 Canadian Junior National Championships in Ottawa.

Who was influential in your curling development?
I have had several key people influence my curling development and they are: My father, my first coach Diana Simpson who led us to the Canada Winter Games in 1999, and my Bantam and Junior curling coach Maurice Wilson who led us to several provincial championships and the 2003 Canadian Junior Nationals.

What is your favourite sport other then curling?
Tennis and Golf.

What kind of Training Regimen do you follow?
Fitness training 3 - 4 times a week consisting of strength, flexibility and interval activities. On-ice training / practice 3 - 4 times a week. Consistent nutritional regimen year round.

Do others in your Family curl?
My entire family curls (Mother, Father, Sister and Brother). My husband and his parents also curl.

Who are your favourite athlete/heros?
Roger Federer

What other sports do you play?
I occasionnally play Golf, Bike and grew up splitting my time with dance and gymnastics.

Name one thing that's in your bucket list?
Scuba dive

Person past or present you would most like to have dinner with?
My grandfather - he past away way to young and I never had to the opportunity to meet him!

What is your favourite movie?
Jaws

What are your favourite television shows?
Modern Family, Dexter, Justified, the Office

What is your favourite music? Groups?
Kings of Leon, Silversun Pickups, 30 Seconds to Mars, Bon Iver, Glen Hansard

Where would you like to spend a week's vacation?
New Zealand

What hobbies do you have?
Reading, interior decorating, refinishing furniture

Any Nicknames?
Most of my friends call me by my maiden name "Gray" as Stephanie was a very popular name in 1984!

What's your Education background?
Chemical Engineering degree at Queen's University

What is your favourite food?
Pizza

Which cartoon character best represents your personality?
Lisa Simpson

Who is your favourite book?
The Glass Castle

Coolest city you've lived in?
Kingston, Ontario

What is your favourite colour?
Green

Any interesting travel experiences?
I traveled to Greece when I was 15 with a dance group. We presented a dance show in the town square in Athens and then performed nightly on a cruise ship as we toured the Greek Islands.

Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on a non-object in /var/www/vhosts/curlingzone.com/ontariocurlingtour.com/player.php on line 373