HOME  -|-  SCHEDULES (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  TEAMS (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  MONEY LIST (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  ORDER OF MERIT (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  NEWS  -|-  PHOTOS  -|-  LOGIN
 
 
      Ontario Curling Tour
    Developing Grassroots Competitive Curling
 
    Chelsea Carey
Age: 33
Birthplace: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Resides: Calgary, Alberta
Throws: Right
High School: River East Collegiate
College/University: University of Manitoba
Biography
In Own Words:
Curling is my passion. I have prioritized it over job opportunities, relationships, vacation time... you name it. It is a big part of who I am, and what I truly love to do.
I grew up at the rink watching my Dad play. The waitresses at the Granite CC in Winnipeg were my babysitters as a kid - they'd even let me sign my dinners to his tab! It has been part of my life as far back as I can remember. Watching my Dad win the Brier was one of the greatest experiences I have ever had... I knew then that I wanted to chase that same dream.

Curling Highlights:
2014 Canadian Scotties Bronze Medallist
2014 Manitoba Provincial Champion
2013 Olympic Trials 4th Place
2011 Canada Cup Finalist
2011 & 2012 Manitoba Provincial Scotties Finalist
2010 Manitoba Lotteries Grand Slam Champion
3-time Grand Slam Finalist

Junior Highlights:
2000 Optimist Provincial Juvenile Champion
2001 Optimist Canadian Juvenile Silver Medallist
2002 High School Provincial Champion

 
  2017 Curl Mesabi Classic
  Home News Teams Photos Events Admin  
 
Questions and Answers

Who\What introduced you to Curling?
My Dad... I had already started curling when I was about 5, but I was also dancing competitively and that seemed to be the priority. Then when my Dad won the Brier in 1992 (I was 7), curling became my focus. I continued dancing until I was 19 but it was all about curling after that Brier. I became the most intense rink rat you've ever seen - I went to every single game he played I think. Watching all the hard work turn into living the dream was the most amazing feeling and I remember knowing that is what I wanted.

Do you have any pre-game superstitions or rituals?
Not really. Little things, like if we're winning we'll all sit in the same seats in the car, or I'll wear the same jewellery.

What is your career highlight to date?
It's hard to choose between competing at the Olympic Trials in our hometown arena in Winnipeg, and finally breaking through and winning a Manitoba title in 2014. Both were absolutely amazing, and overall that 2013-2014 season will be hard to top, but I'm certainly going to try!

What is one shot you would like to try again?
Too many to count. There was a draw I missed in the Canadian Semi-Final in 2014 that I'd love to throw again.

Who was influential in your curling development?
My Dad was far and away the most influential. He has always been my mentor and has been coaching me since he retired from curling himself. I also started curling at Connie Laliberte's curling school at the Winnipeg Winter Club, and she now runs the MCA High Performance Centre. Most recently, Rob Krepps has helped our team a lot.

What is your favourite sport other then curling?
To watch: hockey, golf, and football. To play: golf or any water sport... wake surfing, wakeboarding, tubing, skiing, etc.

What is your most embarrassing moment on the curling ice?
The Canada Cup final in 2011. All of it.

What is your earliest curling memory?
Putting both feet in the hack and shoving the rock as hard as I could... my dad "sweeping" and kicking it along until it got to the rings. It was in Miniota, MB, where my paternal Grandma is from.

What kind of Training Regimen do you follow?
I do weight workouts a few times a week with my trainer, and cardio on my own - mostly running and biking, and some swimming in the summer.

What are your curling strengths?
Strategy & hits... I've worked hard in the last few years to make drawing more of a strength as well.

What are your curling weaknesses?
Leaving the game on the ice, letting go of mistakes/missed shots.

What kind of goals have you set for yourself?
I think most of us would answer this the same... national championships, world championships, and ultimately Olympic Gold!

Do others in your Family curl?
Not anymore. My Dad and Uncle Bill are both Brier champions (1992 and 1979 respectively). My sister curled with me when we were younger and we won a High School Provincial together in 2002, but she's too busy becoming a doctor these days! My Mom used to play in a rec league but hasn't in a few years.

What do you enjoy most about curling?
Winning.

What have you learned through curling?
So much. I've learned a lot about myself and what makes me tick, how to get the best performances at key times. It's taught me about discipline, hard work, and mental toughness. It's also taught me a lot about what it means to be part of a team and how to do everything I can to get the best out of my teammates.

Other Olympic Sport you'd like to try?
Skeleton or luge! I'd love to try the aerials or ski jumping too but I might die doing those ones.

What would you like others to know about curling?
How hard we work at it!! Both on the ice and in the gym. I'm tired of people asking me if we drink beer on the ice while we're curling in Slams!

Most memorable curling experience?
Canada Cup in Cranbrook. The fan support was incredible. I've never experienced anything quite like it. People coming up to us in restaurants wishing us luck, the crowd noise when we made shots, the ovation in the Patch for us after we lost the final, trying to go to the bathroom and coming back half an hour later because I spent 25 minutes signing autographs. It was amazing. My Mom even signed an autograph! "Chelsea's Mom" on one of the volunteers' jackets.

Who is your greatest competitor?
It's hard not to say Jennifer Jones, given that we seem to run into each other so often - especially in finals! But I could come up with a lot of answers for that question, there are so many great teams that we play against every week.

Place you'd like to build a curling club?
I'd like to find a spot in Canada that's anywhere close to as gorgeous as the curling club in Lausanne, Switzerland. It's on the 3rd floor of a marina overlooking Lake Geneva and the Alps, and it has an entire wall of windows along sheets 1 and 4. It's incredible.

Who are your favourite athlete/heros?
My Dad, Wayne Gretzky, Tiger Woods, Muhammed Ali

What other sports do you play?
Golf and water sports. I was a competitive dancer until I was 19 - mostly jazz, tap and ballet.

Do you have any hidden talents?
I'm a bit of a savant with music lyrics, and with my dance background I can do some pretty random tricks like a triple pirouette or the splits.

What is the best advice you've ever received?
Doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will.

Name one thing that's in your bucket list?
Besides go to the Olympics... I want to bungee jump, swim with dolphins, and travel to Australia & New Zealand

What sporting event would you most like to attend?
Probably the Stanley Cup. Especially if the Jets were in it :) Honourable mentions to The Masters and The Superbowl.

What do you wish you were better at?
Curling! And singing.

What is your favourite movie?
A Few Good Men, Wedding Crashers, Top Gun, Face Off, The Usual Suspects

What are your favourite television shows?
Besides sports... Modern Family, Masterchef, Suits, Criminal Minds.

What is your favourite music? Groups?
Classic rock. The Beatles, The Stones, Tom Petty, The Who, The Guess Who, Aerosmith, GNR, etc.

Where would you like to spend a week's vacation?
Hawaii was amazing. Anywhere with sun and a beach. I'd love to see Figi or Crotia as well.

What hobbies do you have?
My "other" sports are the closest thing I have to hobbies.

Any Nicknames?
No! I've always wanted one and nothing has ever stuck.

What's your Education background?
I have a Bachelor of Commerce Honours with a major in Marketing from the Asper School of Business at the University of Manitoba.

What is your favourite food?
Salt is my kryptonite - french fries and potato chips are my cheat foods. It's also hard to beat a good steak!

Something special about your home town?
Winnipeg will always be my hometown, and I love it there. I miss summers there and heading to the lake on weekends. Calgary is great as well - the river is beautiful and there are so many great outdoor running/biking paths. A short drive to the mountains is wonderful too!

Something unique about yourself?
I am a member of Beta Gamma Sigma, which is an honour society for business students based on finishing with a GPA in the top 5% of your Junior class.

Who is your favourite book?
Outliers is a great book. I also couldn't put down Theo Fleury's autobiography, Playing With Fire.

Coolest city you've lived in?
Winnipeg... but that's probably partially because it's the only city I've ever lived in!

What is your favourite colour?
Green and shades thereof... teal, turquoise, etc.

Any interesting travel experiences?
China was a very interesting, and sometimes quite shocking, experience. We played in an event there a few years back, and I'm so thankful that I got to go there, but it was certainly not without it's challenges!

Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on a non-object in /var/www/vhosts/curlingzone.com/ontariocurlingtour.com/player.php on line 373