HOME  -|-  SCHEDULES (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  TEAMS (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  MONEY LIST (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  ORDER OF MERIT (MEN | WOMEN)  -|-  NEWS  -|-  PHOTOS  -|-  LOGIN
 
 
      Ontario Curling Tour
    Developing Grassroots Competitive Curling
 
    Brent Laing
Age: 38
Birthplace: Meaford, Ontario
Resides: Calgary, Alberta
Throws: Right
Profession: Operations Manager, Weed Man - Collingwood/Barrie
High School: Georgian Bay Secondary School
College/University: Wilfrid Laurier University
Biography
In Own Words:
My parents got me started in curling as they were curlers. I also had the opportunity to curl in grade three gym class�and in most subsequent years in gym class through our public school. It's always been a family sport for me.

I have met so many great people through curling and I think that is what I will remember the most looking back on my curling career.


Curling Highlights:
2007 and 2012 Brier and World Champs
2002, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13 Ontario Champs
13 Career Grand Slam Titles


Junior Highlights:
'98, '99 Canadian and World Jr Champ

 
  2017 Challenge de Curling de Gatineau Open
  Home News Teams Photos Events Admin  
 
Questions and Answers

Who\What introduced you to Curling?
My parents and Ed Ormsby

What is your career highlight to date?
Winning the Brier and World Championships.

Who was influential in your curling development?
All of the coaches that I have had along the way have been a huge influence on me and without them I wouldn't be where I am today. Ed Ormsby and my Dad were my first coaches and taught me the fundamentals and sportsmanship of the game. Since then, I have had numeroud amazing coaches -- Brian Savill, Earle Morris and Scott Taylor have all taught me so much about the game and how it is supposed to be played.

What is your favourite sport other then curling?
Golf

What is your earliest curling memory?
Curling with my parents in the annual family Christmas spiel in Meaford for the first time. I think I would have been 10 or 11 years old.

What kind of Training Regimen do you follow?
I'm always looking for new and enjoyable ways to improve my overall fitness levels as well as curling specific fitness. I'm embarassed to say it, but I actually do have a copy of John Morris' Fit To Curl and there are a lot of great excercises in there that I follow.

What kind of goals have you set for yourself?
2018 Winter Olympics

Do others in your Family curl?
My parents curl socially and have for as long as I can remember.

What do you enjoy most about curling?
The comraderie with the guys.

What have you learned through curling?
So many valuable lessons about dedication, team work, sportsmanship, goal setting and the ability to deal with not only success, but failure as well.

Other Olympic Sport you'd like to try?
Speed Skating.

What would you like others to know about curling?
That it's a great game full of great athletes. And it is full of great people around the world.

Most memorable curling experience?
2007 Brier Championship! It's hard to top the feeling of realizing that you have just accomplished your life long dream!

Place you'd like to build a curling club?
In my backyard. With Canadian Curling Stone Rocks and Mark Shurek as the ice maker. And it would have a full bar of course!

Who are your favourite athlete/heros?
Wayne Gretzky. Tiger Woods

What other sports do you play?
Golf, skiing, hockey

Do you have any hidden talents?
I'm sure I do, I just haven't found them yet.

What is the best advice you've ever received?
That you have the ability to choose your attitude each and every day. You may not be able to control the things that happen to you but you are in control with how you react to them.

Name one thing that's in your bucket list?
Experience the Olympics

What sporting event would you most like to attend?
Ryder Cup

What do you wish you were better at?
Golf

Person past or present you would most like to have dinner with?
Dave Matthews

What is your favourite movie?
Good Will Hunting, Braveheart, Gladiator, Old School, SuperBad

What are your favourite television shows?
Dexter, White Collar,

What is your favourite music? Groups?
Dave Matthews Band, Ray Lamontagne, David Gray, Foy Vance

Where would you like to spend a week's vacation?
Hawaii

What hobbies do you have?
Travelling, sports, and being at home.

Any Nicknames?
Lainger

What's your Education background?
Honours Univeristy Degree from Wilfrid Laurier University - Geography with Administration Option

What is your favourite food?
Pizza

Who is your favourite book?
Open - Andre Agassi

Coolest city you've lived in?
Canmore, Alberta

Any interesting travel experiences?
Any travel experience is interesting to me. I love to travel. But an Africa Safari in Zimbabwe was the trip of a lifetime!

Fatal error: Call to a member function query() on a non-object in /var/www/vhosts/curlingzone.com/ontariocurlingtour.com/player.php on line 373