Login:    Password:    
      Mount Lawn Gord Carroll Classic
    Nov 1 - 4, 2012 | Whitby, Ontario -- Purse: $23,000 CDN
  Home News Teams Draw PlayoffsScores Statistics Contact Admin  

Howard and Mouzar win Mount Lawn Gord Carroll Classic
Source: Anil Mungal, World Curling Tour
Howard and Mouzar win Mount Lawn Gord Carroll Classic

Glenn Howard defeated Mark Kean and Jill Mouzar defeated Jacqueline Harrison in the Mount Lawn Gord Carroll Classic in Whitby, Ontario.

Whitby, ONTARIO (November 4, 2012) Glenn Howard defeated Mark Kean by a score of 6-3 in the final of the Mount Lawn Gord Carroll Classic. The team from Coldwater, Ontario received $7,000 in prize money and 31.5 CTRS (Canadian Team Ranking System) points for their victory at the Whitby Curling Club in Whitby, Ontario.

In the fourth end, Howard was up 3-1 without hammer but got into a bit of trouble.

"I got a little bit unlucky on my first shot which cracked out of my hand." said Howard. Kean took this opportunity to draw into the house to lie three, but his shot ran a little deep. Howard is now facing three Kean stones, but has some outs.

"There was a make-able double.", said Howard. "I hit it in the right spot. It went back and picked out another one. We end up sitting two."

This forced Kean to draw for a single point.

"It's a huge game-changer.", explained Howard. "If I dont hit that right, he gets three and its a whole different ball game."

Howard beat Frank O'Driscoll and Bryan Cochrane to make it to the final.

Runner-up Mark Kean defeated Niklas Edin and Jake Higgs in the playoffs on his way to the final. Team Kean received $4,000 for their second place finish.

"We've exceeded expectations", said Kean. "This season, we've qualified in every event so far except one."

Mark Kean (Toronto, ON) 01010100 3
* Glenn Howard (Coldwater, ON) 20101002 6
* indicates last stone first end

The final on the Women's side of the draw had Jill Mouzar defeating Jacqueline Harrison by a score of 5-4 in the final. Team Mouzar received $2,600 in prize money for their victory.

The game came down to the last shot in the final end with Mouzar down one point. Harrison was lying one with Mouzar stones sitting second and third shot.

"She [Harrison] over-curled on her guard", explained Mouzar.

On her last shot, Mouzar attempted to raise her stone onto the Harrison shot stone to knock it out and lie two for the win.

"That was my only shot for two." said Mouzar. "I thought I had over-curled. It was close."

Mouzar's shot was perfect to score two and chalk up the win.

In the quarter-finals, Mouzar beat Marika Bakewell, and then went on to defeat Susan McKnight with a steal in an extra end.

Jacqueline Harrison defeated Stephanie Van Huyse and Heather Graham on her way to the final. Team Harrison receives $1,400 for their second place finish.

* Jacqueline Harrison (Brantford, ON) 01020010 4
Jill Mouzar (Toronto, ON) 00201002 5
* indicates last stone first end

For More Information:
Anil Mungal, (c) 416.427.2618, media@worldcurlingtour.com
Twitter: @worldcurltour
Facebook: www.facebook.com/WorldCurlingTour

Eastern Time (ET)
Post New Thread | View Forum

Ontario Curling
Banana Belt Bonspiel 2017
Ontario Curling
OCA not giving out Banners
Ontario Curling
Curling Scholarship
Ontario Curling
curlnoca womens
Ontario Curling
Youth Bonspiels
Ontario Curling
Ontario Curling
Ontario Tankard & Scotties Entries
Ontario Curling
PGA tour
Ontario Curling
Chinguacousy Mixed Doubles Bonspiel
Ontario Curling
What's the update on Wayne Middaugh Craig Savill?

Eastern Time (ET)
2014 John Epping Toronto, ON
2013 Wayne Tuck Jr. , ON
2012 Glenn Howard Coldwater, ON
2011 Peter Corner , ON
2010 John Epping Toronto, ON
2009 Peter Corner Brampton, ON
2008 Pat Duggan Toronto, ON
Ontario Curling Tour 2001-2009, CurlingZone, all rights reserved.